Match Reports‎ > ‎

ACFL Division 1 - Rd 1 - Slashers vs Rathcline 14th April 2013

posted 14 Apr 2013, 15:13 by Unknown user

Date: Sunday 14th April 2013 @ 2:30pm

Venue: Michael Fay Park

Final Score: Rathcline 2-06, Longford Slashers 1-11

Rathcline played against a very strong wind in 1st half. Slashers got off to a very good start with point in the 2nd 6th 9th minute and a goal on 11 minutes followed by another point on 13 minutes before Rathcline put their 1st point on the board on the 14 minute mark. Ryan Fallon was replaced by Liam Connerton after 17 minutes. Slashers followed on with points in the 18th 21st and 24th minute before Rathcline got their 2nd point. Half time score was 1 -08 to Rathcline’s 2 points.

Second half started with Shane Donoghue replacing Conor Casey in the half back line.

Rathcline got off to a glorious start in the second half with 30 seconds on the clock James Hanley found the back of the Slashers net giving the Rathcline supporters a ray of hope for the coming half.

Slashers increased the gap again with a point in the 33rd minute. Derek Casserely scored a beautiful point on the 36th minute to leave the scoreline 1 -03  to 1 -09.

Rathcline had the best of possession for the next 20 minutes with points from James Hanley (41st Minute) and Liam Connerton (43rd Minute). Rathcline should have been more efficient during this spell and were guilty of some bad wides which proved costly with the end result. Kevin Chapman picked up a yellow card in the 44th minute.

Slashers pulled back a point in the 49th minute but this was to be nullified when Patrick Mullooly found the Slashers net in the 56th minute. Patrick followed up on this score 2 minutes later with a pointed free.

Slashers had the last shares of the spoils in the second half with a point just before full time.

Final score: Longford Slashers 1 -11 to Rathcline 2 -06

Team: David Mulvihill, Blain Fallon, Michael Morrisey, Cathal Greene, Stephen Farrell, Conor Casey, Michael Hanley, Derek Casserely, Shane Casserely, Kevin Chapman, Paddy Mullooly, Ryan Fallon, James Hanley, James Carroll, Aaron Madden

Subs: Liam Connerton, Shane Donoghue, Eamon Farrell, Sean Morrisey, David Rooney, Danny O' Sullivan, Fiachra Beirne, Colin Fayne, Mel Shanley, Conor McGrath.

Photos are available in the Club Photos Section of this website